top of page

Hello from Zurich...Switzerland!

My challenge with working at a computer all day is that I have very little desire to look at my personal computer in my leisure time. I like to get outside on foot or on my bike when I can; living in Seattle does that to a person. If something pops into my head, I like jotting notes down in a physical notebook, but it means this blog gets neglected :(


As the title implies, I am no longer in Seattle. And as I have been a data scientist at an insurance company for the last 4 years, most of my colleagues thought I was starting a new job with Zurich Insurance Group and not moving to a different country! It still makes me smile thinking about it :D


Yes there will be lots of things to do as a new resident that aren't applicable to tourists. I have so much written down about what has happened so far and hope to turn some of the scribbles into coherent, digestable posts. Maybe someone will find them useful; I definitely had questions when my husband and I learned we would be moving!


A big unknown for me is job searching! Do I need to re-format my resume to a CV? Is networking a thing people do here? How do newbies to the area connect with folks? Are data science (tech in general) interviews conducted similarly here (depending on how wide of a net is cast, means...prepare for everything: whiteboarding, case studies, take home tests, SQL, probability)? All these questions are enough to make my heart race, so I will bring the BPM down by gazing at this beautiful cheese display I saw at my local COOP.


bottom of page